THE HOUSE OF THE RADIO
"Introduced in the first studio, where
visitors can watch the announcer twiddling the controls and using the turn
tables, to a pre-planned programme schedule. He is responsible
output from the studio to the equipment and transmitters situated on the
cliff, where the aerials will
finally send the signal thousands of
of Fécamp 24/09/34)
The studio of broadcasters
Notice the microphone and the six 78rpm turntables
the bottom, a control desk
"Transmitter building" at the top of
La Sente de la
Fromagerie. Nowadays, this chalet
is amidst a grove of trees, where it has
a residential dwelling
power (transforming high tension,
steam-powered mercury rectifier )
Water Pumps of the
tuning coil of the antenna circuit
a more powerful transmitter
"house of the Radio", in the street of Boulogne
Cuvier, commencing 22 September 1934.
Fecamp, the same house in 2005.
of Fécamp 24 September 1934 :
"The large auditorium, 16 m long,
illuminated by large glazed windows . Its accoustics and planning have
been carefully designed.
It can accommodate a large audience and orchestra
It is discreetly and elegantly furnished. Apart from the piano,
there is an ultra sensitive microphone,
without which no broadcast could
take place ".
The first studio
and four record-players) in 1933
"pause" for riggers building
of the new masts for
Radio Normandy in 1933
of 2 new masts in 1933.
the middle - the old 50 m masts used until now.
and its pilot piece of quartz furniture!